The Athens University of Economics and Business was founded in 1920. In 1984, among the pre-existing departments, a newly formed Statistics Department was added. In 1989, that department was divided into the Statistics Department and the Department of Applied Informatics. The latter was renamed to the Informatics Department in 1995. Therefore, today, the University is composed of eight (8) Academic Departments:
·        Department of Economics
 ·       Department of Informatics
·        Department of Statistics
According to its founding legislation, the Informatics Department is focused on promoting Computer Science and its applications with an emphasis on Information Systems Programming, Analysis and Design, as well as  the Processing and Transmission of Information.